Heroes of Newerth

Gotta share the love for other fun games? Post about them here!

Postby Jinx » Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:02 pm

If you've ever played Defense of the Ancients or League of Legends, Heroes of Newerth is in the same vein. It's kind of hard to describe it if you've never played these types of games before.. it's kind of a halfbreed genre of RPG and tower defense.

Throughout the end of the week though, Heroes of Newerth will be free to play if you want to give it a shot :D It's a blast of fun even when your entire team are blithering idiots (which is almost always). A word of warning though, the game is extremely deep and learning the basics will take several games until you get the hang of things. Learning the items / the shop is probably the most confusing part of the game. I've included a couple FAQs and basic guides below to anybody interested. I'm no expert but I think I've got a good handle on it, message me if you want some tips or want to get like a noobie game going or something ^_^

Heroes of Newerth Free Week!!
Game Basics
Big huge guide that has brief overview of every hero
Nigma's basic HoN tutorial video Part 1 - Part 2
Jinx

Postby Jinx » Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:17 pm

Doesn't look like too many people are interested in this game :P In any case if you're still looking to try it out they're having a weekend long sale for just $10 so check it out it's super fun.

As a forewarning / heads up:
  • Everybody assumes you know how to play from the beginning, so play "no stat" games if you're just starting out (Public games that have a red star next to them--not matchmaking games). These games don't affect your ladder ranking and you can leave them at any time so people won't freak out as much when they know you're new.
  • Use the Prodex. It gives very good cookie-cutter skill and item builds for every hero and tips and info for what is generally considered the best way to play that hero a majority of the time