WARNING: Steam Group Phishing Messages..

For news and announcements related to the forums, plus forum rules.

Postby NikkyVix » Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:00 pm

From Witchiebunny's announcement on the TFP Steam group:

Several members of TFP have already recieved messages from others on their friends list. The message is as follows:

please join to our community http://steamcommmunity.com/groups/sohpp ... 4s5555.txt i'm counting on you =D

The account then logs off.

THIS IS A SCAM. Do not click the link and if you do, CHANGE YOUR PASSWORD IMMEDIATELY before you log off of Steam!

Be careful.

If you or anyone you know has had their account compromised, we would appreciate it if you posted here saying so. So far, I know of only two names: Dracasis, and Muad Dib's Left Hand, whom I received the message from shortly before posting this.
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 1296
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:14 pm
Location: Behind a doorway. Setting traps.

Postby Witchiebunny » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:37 am

The Game Freak's account has been compromised as well.
User avatar
Posts: 755
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:43 pm
Location: In her burrow. Drinking Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.

Postby Ayeaka » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:31 am

All's good on my end, time being. I've passed the warning on throughout my groups and such. I'll edit this if I do receive the message from anyone in the community.
Frau Chimäre~
The doctor will see you now.
User avatar
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 7:11 am

Postby Purplecat » Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:36 am

And before you login in with your account and password onto a site... check the address bar.

Another crude way how to check if it's a phishing site is simple by attempting to login with a fake username and password. Then visiting strange sites without turning off javascript (or using NoScript) is a bit gamble to begin with.
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 2067
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: Sweden, Höganäs

Postby Atchhoat » Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:12 pm

I got the message from Renamon, but I guess this is slowpoke
User avatar
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:25 pm

Postby Arcalane » Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:50 pm

Another wave of phishing scams are going out. Watch for any so-called hardware promotions offering a free copy of Portal to Intel users.
User avatar
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:30 am
Location: UK

Postby Pitchblack » Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:28 pm

Yeah. Right now I know Marshtomp has been hacked, and according to RumRunner, Fennec has been too.

This is the message:

Message wrote:New Steam hardware promotion! Users with Intel get a free copy of Portal! - http://www(dot)intel-steampowered(dot)co(dot)cc

With "." rather than "(dot)" in the real message, of course.
Last edited by Pitchblack on Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
*They stand in my road
.....The mad, ancient nasty things
.......... tell them MOVE! or else!*
User avatar
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:59 am

Postby Stormcaller3801 » Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:29 pm

Ah, well I'm safe.

I don't have any friends.
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:38 am

Postby Mr. Munchlax » Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:54 pm

Something like this has been going around in another group I'm in as well. I haven't gotten anything from anyone in TFP yet though...
Who do you think you are? Bleeding Action Man?!
User avatar
Mr. Munchlax
Posts: 736
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 2:02 am
Location: Texas

Postby Ayeaka » Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:53 pm

Not posted in a while, I know.

Didymus has gotten his account snatched. :/

Don't know of anyone else on my list that's been hit, currently.
Frau Chimäre~
The doctor will see you now.
User avatar
Posts: 561
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 7:11 am


Return to Forum News, Rules & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests