[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
The Furry Pound forums • View topic - Sept 15 Update

Sept 15 Update

Post any TF2-related news here.

Postby Stormcaller3801 » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:07 am

Stormcaller3801

Postby Ayeaka » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:11 am

The idle limiter is apparently actually a fix.

Prior you couldn't be idle-kicked from a server as long as you sat at the MotD.
It's still server-controlled.

Is it just me, or are Valve's update notes getting vaguer and vaguer?
Frau Chimäre~
The doctor will see you now.
Ayeaka

Postby Stormcaller3801 » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:15 am

No idea. I don't tend to read them and I'm still relatively new at this.
Stormcaller3801

Postby Kyle » Wed Sep 16, 2009 12:17 am

The first thing I noticed was an improvement in performance. This seems to be (at least partially) the result of halos - there's noticeably fewer particles on them. I cap my framerate at 70FPS (monitor refresh rate is 60hz plus some extra just in case!) so I can't say precisely how much it's improved, but I didn't run into any significant frame drops while playing on a full server at Dustbowl and Sawmill. I didn't even turn the rain off for Sawmill either. Previously I was encountering some really significant dips to around 30FPS in full servers. I'd say the performance has returned to at least the Spy/Sniper update, and maybe a little better than that.
Kyle

Postby Purplecat » Wed Sep 16, 2009 5:06 am

The idler fix have nothing to do with item idling. :/ We had a few cases where people wouldn't be automatically kicked out when idled... and it was probably people idling at the MOTD screen. Should make the server admins job easier.